Originally founded in 1893, Schroeder's longstanding history has made the Bavarian inspired beer hall a favorite of San Francisco residents and business professionals for the past 120 years. The original structure was opened at 545 Market Street and was destroyed by the 1906 earthquake and fire. After relocating to 16th and Mission for a period of time, Henry Schroeder, who was actively involved in downtown San Francisco's reconstruction, reopened the restaurant at 240 Front Street. It was famous among downtown male clientele until the 1970's when they started welcoming women.
With a new page beginning in Schroeder's history, the restaurant is reinventing the way San Francisco views German Fare. Chef Manfred Wrembel's passion for the cuisine of his ancestry and love of California's seasonal styling is embodied in the dishes he creates. The restaurant's decor pays homage to its Bavarian Heritage with Herman Richter murals, Historical Wall of Steins, and the Original Mill Work throughout. A rosewood bar stretching the length of the beer hall with 22 German influenced beers on tap is sure to captivate the thirsty.