The Shasta Trinity National Forest area is known for its gracious hospitality, golden history, and many outdoor splendors. Even before the Gold Rush of 1849, pirate Bill English and his rogue crew discovered gold in the Trinity River near Big Bar and left the area with their purses full. Eventually, thousands of miners flocked to the area and prompted the construction of such towns as Weaverville and Lewiston. Most of the county is forestland, and some of the most beautiful scenery and natural lakes are found in the Trinity Alps Wilderness, so named because its snow-capped peaks are reminiscent of the Swiss Alps. The Trinity River, designated as a wild and scenic river, provides opportunities for kayaking, rafting, fishing, and swimming. The Coffee Creek area resorts just north of Trinity Lake offer horseback riding, cabins, and recreational activities.
Weaverville, located along Highway 299, provides a step back in time. In the 1800s, as many Chinese men and women inhabited the region as did Euro-Americans, all of them searching for gold. In 1852 they established a Taoist place of worship, and the Joss House, dedicated in April of 1875, has been in continuous use as a place of worship ever since.